Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register

Mindgrub & Groove are winners at the 3rd annual Baltimore Innovation Awards

Monday, October 5, 2015   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Megan Mann
Share |

Mindgrub Wins Tech Business of the Year
Groove Wins Design/Dev Firm of the Year  

Over 2,000 of you voted. From Startup of the Year to Tech Community Leader of the Year, here's who you picked, as announced at Beta City.

More than 2,000 people voted in the third annual Baltimore Innovation Awards.

First you nominated them. Then you voted on them. Then last night at the evening reception of Beta City we announced them — giving out actual awards made by Fab Lab Baltimore — inside the not-yet-launched massive City Garage makerspace.

Beta City, led by the Betamore incubator with Sagamore Ventures, and Startup Maryland, was a signature event of Baltimore Innovation Week 2015, which organizes. In addition to the dozen Innovation Awards voted online, Betamore gave two curated awards.

Find last year’s winners here and the 2013 winners here.

Without further ado, here are the winners of this year’s Baltimore Innovation Awards:

  • Tech Community Leader of the Year: Jen Meyer for updating the Betamore vision
  • Scientist of the Year: Hal Weaver of the Johns Hopkins Applied Physics Laboratory for his involvement in Pluto research
  • Technologist of the Year: Angelique Weger for her work with Girl Develop It Baltimore and Detroit Trading
  • Best Web/Mobile Product of the Year: Tissue Analytics
  • Design/Dev Firm of the Year: Groove
  • Tech Mission Org of the Year: Girl Develop It Baltimore
  • Artist/Creative Group of the Year: Light City Festival
  • Makerspace of the Year: Digital Harbor Foundation
  • Best Locally Built Indie Video Game of the Year: Johnny Speed by Mindgrub Games
  • Colocation or Incubator Space of the Year: Emerging Technology Centers
  • Tech Startup of the Year: Citelighter
  • Tech Business of the Year: Mindgrub

Betamore cofounder and board chairman Greg Cangialosi gave out two awards on behalf of the incubator, taking up the mantle from the former it absorbed and that group’s longtime Tech Nite:

  • Silo Breaker Award: Christy Wyskiel of Johns Hopkins University was honored for her economic development and tech commercialization efforts across the region.
  • Beta Award: Bob Embry, the notable president of the Abell Foundation, was honored for his meaningful impact on the region’s entrepreneurial community. An adviser accepted the award on his behalf.

This article originally appeared on 

CRTC Legal/Privacy  ::  Legal